People who do not respond to your messages or do not pick up their phones might have decided to block you. It is easy to block contacts on iPhone but difficult to determine whether a contact has blocked you since you will not receive any notifications about this.
In the following guide, we will discuss the different steps you can take to determine whether a contact blocked your number or whether they’re unavailable because they’ve enabled the Do Not Disturb mode.
How to Know if Someone Blocked You on iPhone
Here are the different methods you could use to figure out if a contact blocked you.
Method 1: Send an iMessage
With iMessage, iPhone users can send encrypted messages to their contacts through text, images, or videos. The targeted device won’t receive your texts and calls when a contact blocks you. However, you can still use the iMessage app to text them, and the messages will go to the person’s iCloud account.
However, using iMessage isn’t a good option if you need to send an urgent text message, but the person will see your SMS message only when they check their iCloud account.
Here is how to text a contact who has blocked you on this messaging app:
Step 1) Open Your iMessage app.
Then, tap the square icon in the top right corner of the screen to start a new conversation.
Step 2) Look for the contact who blocked you or enter their phone number or Apple ID.
Step 3) Write your message in the text field at the bottom of your screen. You can also add emojis, attach images, and more.
Step 4) Tap the blue arrow icon next to the text field, then send your SMS message.
Method 2: Give Them a Phone Call
A common indication that someone has blocked you is that your calls go straight to voicemail. However, you should keep in mind that other things can also cause your calls to go to voicemail like:
- The contact has enabled Do Not Disturb mode.
- The person is busy and is turning down your calls manually because they can’t answer.
- Their phone battery has died.
- They have turned their Phone off.
- The contact is in an area with poor service or outside their carrier’s service area.
Method 3: How to Know if Someone Blocked You on iPhone by Turn Off Caller ID
Turn Off Caller ID is also one method to know if someone blocked you on your iPhone is if the Caller ID feature filters your calls. If you turn off Caller ID, your calls will get through since their device will not be able to identify your number.
It’s not a foolproof method since a lot of people don’t answer unknown calls. However, if the call does not go straight to voicemail, there is a good possibility that the person blocked your number.
Here’s how you can turn off Caller ID:
Step 1) Go to Settings.
Step 2) Look for an option called Phone.
Step 3) Search for the Caller ID feature and use the switch to toggle it on or off.
Note that you can turn off the Caller ID feature on iPhone devices, but this method isn’t available if the person blocked is using an Android phone.
Method 4: Check the Color of the Text Bubble
Most iPhone users send text messages via the iMessage service. This app uses encryption to protect text messages but needs an internet connection to send messages.
You’ll see a blue text bubble whenever you send a message via the iMessage service. When you send a text as a regular SMS, you’ll get a green text bubble instead.
However, you can enable the Send as SMS option in your iMessage settings when your Phone tries sending your message as a regular SMS. For example, if the message bubble goes from blue to green, the person hasn’t blocked you.
Note that text bubbles don’t indicate that someone blocked you since other reasons could prevent someone from receiving a text message.
Method 5: Check Other Messaging Apps
If you think a contact has blocked you, you can try different third-party apps to see if this contact is available on these platforms.
Use Facebook Messenger app
Here’s how you can see if someone has blocked you on Facebook:
Step 1) Open the Facebook Messenger app.
Step 2) Look for the contact who might have blocked you on this messaging app.
Step 3) In case when you see their name but can’t click on it to access their profile, they might block you.
Step 4) Try sending them a message. If you don’t see the checkmark turn blue, they’re not reading it and might have you on their blocked list.
You can also check the messages app Whatsapp:
Step 1) Open the Whatsapp app and look for this contact.
Step 2) They have blocked you if you can’t see their online status in the chat window.
Step 3) When you are trying to send them a WhatsApp message, and if you don’t see the second checkmark, that indicates a contact has read your message.
Step 4) You can try calling the contact on Whatsapp. The call won’t go through if you’re on their blocked list.
Don’t forget to check Snapchat:
Step 1) Open Snapchat.
Step 2) Try looking for the contact who blocked you. You’re on their blocked list if they don’t appear in search results.
Method 6: Bypass the Do Not Disturb Mode
It can be challenging to determine whether a contact has blocked you or has enabled the Do Not Disturb mode since your calls will go straight to voicemail in both cases.
You can try bypassing the Do Not Disturb mode to see if the person is using this feature or has blocked you:
Step 1) Call their number once and wait for the call to go to voicemail.
Step 2) Call again within three minutes.
If the person uses the Do Not Disturb mode, the second call will go through since a second call can indicate an emergency.
Method 7: Enter *67 Before Dialing the Number
Entering *67 before dialing a number hides your phone number and helps you bypass Caller ID. It’s a method you can use on Android phones that you don’t have a phone setting that disables Caller ID.
It can also be a good option if you believe the contact is filtering calls and hangs up or sends you to voicemail when they see your number on their screen.
Method 8: Automated Responses
Focus Mode is a convenient iPhone feature that reduces distractions when driving or working. Users can select automated responses to let their contacts know they’re busy and will get back to them later.
Try sending them your contact a text. If you receive an automated response, it’s a sign that they haven’t blocked you.
Method 9: Call On iPhone Goes Straight to Voicemail
When someone blocks you, your calls will go to voicemail after one ring. You could find out if someone blocked you by using a different phone to call them:
Step 1) Call the contact with your usual Phone to see if the call goes straight to voicemail.
Step 2) Borrow a phone from a friend and try calling the contact. The contact has likely blocked you if you hear more than one ring before going to voicemail.