البرنامج التعليمي لاختبار الأداء

اختبار الحمل

ما هو اختبار الأداء؟

اختبار أداء هي عملية اختبار برمجية تستخدم لاختبار السرعة ووقت الاستجابة والاستقرار والموثوقية وقابلية التوسع واستخدام الموارد لتطبيق برمجي تحت عبء عمل معين. الغرض الرئيسي من اختبار الأداء هو تحديد وإزالة اختناقات الأداء في تطبيق البرنامج. إنها مجموعة فرعية من هندسة الأداء وتُعرف أيضًا باسم "اختبار الأداء".

ينصب تركيز اختبار الأداء على فحص البرامج

  • سرعة – تحديد ما إذا كان التطبيق يستجيب بسرعة
  • التدرجية - تحديد الحد الأقصى لتحميل المستخدم الذي يمكن لتطبيق البرنامج التعامل معه.
  • استقرار – تحديد ما إذا كان التطبيق مستقرًا تحت أحمال مختلفة

لماذا اختبار الأداء؟

الميزات والوظائف التي يدعمها نظام البرمجيات ليست هي الاهتمام الوحيد. إن أداء التطبيقات البرمجية، مثل وقت الاستجابة والموثوقية واستخدام الموارد وقابلية التوسع، له أهمية كبيرة. الهدف من اختبار الأداء ليس العثور على الأخطاء بل إزالة اختناقات الأداء.

يتم إجراء اختبار الأداء لتزويد أصحاب المصلحة بمعلومات حول تطبيقاتهم فيما يتعلق بالسرعة والاستقرار وقابلية التوسع. والأهم من ذلك، أن اختبار الأداء يكشف ما يجب تحسينه قبل طرح المنتج في السوق. بدون اختبار الأداء، من المحتمل أن يعاني البرنامج من مشكلات مثل: التشغيل البطيء أثناء استخدام العديد من المستخدمين له في نفس الوقتneously، والتناقضات عبر مختلفة operaأنظمة تينغ، وضعف سهولة الاستخدام.

اختبار أداء

سيحدد اختبار الأداء ما إذا كانت برامجهم تلبي متطلبات السرعة وقابلية التوسع والاستقرار في ظل أعباء العمل المتوقعة. من المرجح أن تكتسب التطبيقات المرسلة إلى السوق ذات مقاييس الأداء الضعيفة بسبب عدم وجود اختبار أداء أو ضعفه، سمعة سيئة وتفشل في تحقيق أهداف المبيعات المتوقعة.

أيضا، تطبيقات المهام الحرجة مثل برامج الإطلاق الفضائية أو المعدات الطبية المنقذة للحياة يجب اختبار أدائها للتأكد من أنها تعمل لفترة طويلة دون انحرافات.

وفقًا لـ Dunn & Bradstreet، فإن 59% من شركات Fortune 500 تواجه ما يقدر بـ 1.6 hours من التوقف كل أسبوع. وبالنظر إلى أن متوسط ​​شركة Fortune 500 التي تضم ما لا يقل عن 10,000 موظف تدفع 56 دولارًا في الساعة، فإن جزء العمل من تكاليف التوقف عن العمل لمثل هذه المؤسسة سيكون 896,000 دولارًا أسبوعيًا، وهو ما يترجم إلى أكثر من 46 مليون دولار سنويًا.

فقط توقف لمدة 5 دقائق Google.com (19 أغسطس 13) من المقدر أن يكلف عملاق البحث ما يصل إلى 545,000 دولار.

تشير التقديرات إلى أن الشركات فقدت قيمة مبيعاتها 1100 دولارًا في الثانية بسبب الأخيرة Amazon انقطاع خدمة الويب.

ومن ثم، فإن اختبار الأداء مهم. لمساعدتك في هذه العملية، تحقق من هذه القائمة أدوات اختبار الأداء.

أنواع اختبارات الأداء

هناك الحزب الثوري المؤسسيmariهناك ستة أنواع من اختبارات الأداء في اختبار البرمجيات، وهي موضحة أدناه.
  • اختبار الحمل - يتحقق من قدرة التطبيق على الأداء في ظل أحمال المستخدم المتوقعة. الهدف هو تحديد اختناقات الأداء قبل بدء تشغيل تطبيق البرنامج.
  • اختبار الإجهاد - يتضمن اختبار أحد التطبيقات في ظل أعباء العمل الشديدة لمعرفة كيفية تعامله مع حركة المرور العالية أو معالجة البيانات. الهدف هو تحديد نقطة الانهيار للتطبيق.
  • اختبار التحمل – يتم ذلك للتأكد من قدرة البرنامج على التعامل مع الحمل المتوقع على مدى فترة طويلة من الزمن.
  • اختبار سبايك – يختبر رد فعل البرنامج تجاه الارتفاعات الكبيرة المفاجئة في الحمل الناتج عن المستخدمين.
  • اختبار الحجم - تحت اختبار الحجم رقم كبير. ل. يتم تعبئة البيانات في قاعدة بيانات، ويتم مراقبة السلوك العام لنظام البرنامج. الهدف هو التحقق من أداء التطبيقات البرمجية في ظل أحجام مختلفة لقاعدة البيانات.
  • اختبار قابلية التوسع - الهدف من اختبار قابلية التوسع هو تحديد مدى فعالية التطبيقات البرمجية في "توسيع النطاق" لدعم زيادة حمل المستخدم. يساعد في التخطيط لإضافة السعة إلى نظام البرامج الخاص بك.

مشاكل الأداء الشائعة

تدور معظم مشكلات الأداء حول السرعة ووقت الاستجابة ووقت التحميل وضعف قابلية التوسع. غالبًا ما تكون السرعة إحدى أهم سمات التطبيق. سيفقد التطبيق الذي يعمل ببطء المستخدمين المحتملين. يضمن اختبار الأداء تشغيل التطبيق بسرعة كافية لجذب انتباه المستخدم واهتمامه. نلقي نظرة على فولوwing قائمة بمشكلات الأداء الشائعة ولاحظ كيف أن السرعة عامل مشترك في الكثير منها:

  • وقت تحميل طويل – وقت التحميل هو عادة الوقت الأولي الذي يستغرقه التطبيق لبدء التشغيل. وينبغي عموما أن يبقى هذا إلى الحد الأدنى. في حين أنه من المستحيل تحميل بعض التطبيقات في أقل من دقيقة، إلا أنه يجب إبقاء وقت التحميل أقل من بضع ثوانٍ إن أمكن.
  • - وقت استجابة ضعيف - وقت الاستجابة هو الوقت الذي يستغرقه إدخال المستخدم للبيانات في التطبيق حتى يقوم التطبيق بإخراج استجابة لهذا الإدخال. بشكل عام، يجب أن يكون هذا سريعًا جدًا. مرة أخرى، إذا اضطر المستخدم إلى الانتظار لفترة طويلة، فإنه يفقد الاهتمام.
  • ضعف قابلية التوسع – يعاني منتج البرنامج من ضعف قابلية التوسع عندما لا يتمكن من التعامل مع العدد المتوقع من المستخدمين أو عندما لا يستوعب نطاقًا واسعًا كافيًا من المستخدمين. اختبار الحمل يجب القيام به للتأكد من قدرة التطبيق على التعامل مع العدد المتوقع من المستخدمين.
  • الاختناق – الاختناقات هي عوائق في النظام تؤدي إلى انخفاض أداء النظام بشكل عام. يحدث الاختناق عندما تتسبب أخطاء الترميز أو مشكلات الأجهزة في انخفاض الإنتاجية في ظل أحمال معينة. غالبًا ما يحدث الاختناق بسبب قسم واحد معيب من التعليمات البرمجية. إن مفتاح حل مشكلة الاختناق هو العثور على قسم التعليمات البرمجية الذي يسبب التباطؤ ومحاولة إصلاحه هناك. يتم إصلاح الاختناق بشكل عام إما عن طريق إصلاح عمليات التشغيل الضعيفة أو إضافة أجهزة إضافية. بعض اختناقات الأداء المشتركة .
    • استخدام وحدة المعالجة المركزية
    • استخدام الذاكرة
    • استخدام الشبكة
    • Operaقيود النظام
    • إستخدام القرص

كيفية القيام باختبار الأداء

يمكن أن تختلف المنهجية المعتمدة لاختبار الأداء بشكل كبير، ولكن الهدف من اختبارات الأداء يظل كما هو. يمكن أن يساعد في إثبات أن نظام البرنامج الخاص بك يفي بمعايير أداء معينة محددة مسبقًا. أو يمكن أن يساعد في مقارنة أداء نظامين برمجيين. يمكن أن يساعد أيضًا في تحديد أجزاء نظام البرنامج الخاص بك والتي تؤدي إلى انخفاض أدائه.

فيما يلي عملية عامة حول كيفية إجراء اختبار الأداء

عملية اختبار الأداء
عملية اختبار الأداء

الخطوة 1) تحديد بيئة الاختبار الخاصة بك

تعرف على بيئة الاختبار الفعلية وبيئة الإنتاج وأدوات الاختبار المتاحة. فهم ديtails تكوينات الأجهزة والبرامج والشبكة المستخدمة أثناء الاختبار قبل بدء عملية الاختبار. وسوف يساعد المختبرين على إنشاء اختبارات أكثر كفاءة. سيساعد أيضًا في تحديد التحديات المحتملة التي قد يواجهها المختبرون أثناء إجراءات اختبار الأداء.

الخطوة 2) تحديد معايير قبول الأداء

يتضمن ذلك الأهداف والقيود الخاصة بالإنتاجية وأوقات الاستجابة وتخصيص الموارد. ومن الضروري أيضًا تحديد معايير نجاح المشروع خارج هذه الأهداف والقيود. ينبغي تمكين المختبرين من وضع معايير الأداء وأهدافه لأن مواصفات المشروع في كثير من الأحيان لن تتضمن مجموعة واسعة بما فيه الكفاية من معايير الأداء. في بعض الأحيان قد لا يكون هناك أي شيء على الإطلاق. عندما يكون ذلك ممكنًا، يعد العثور على تطبيق مشابه للمقارنة به طريقة جيدة لتحديد أهداف الأداء.

الخطوة 3) تخطيط وتصميم اختبارات الأداء

حدد مدى احتمال اختلاف الاستخدام بين المستخدمين النهائيين وحدد السيناريوهات الرئيسية لاختبار جميع حالات الاستخدام المحتملة. من الضروري محاكاة مجموعة متنوعة من المستخدمين النهائيين، وتخطيط بيانات اختبار الأداء وتحديد المقاييس التي سيتم جمعها.

الخطوة 4) تكوين بيئة الاختبار

قم بإعداد بيئة الاختبار قبل التنفيذ. قم أيضًا بترتيب الأدوات والموارد الأخرى.

الخطوة 5) تنفيذ تصميم الاختبار

قم بإنشاء اختبارات الأداء وفقًا لتصميم الاختبار الخاص بك.

الخطوة 6) تشغيل الاختبارات

تنفيذ ومراقبة الاختبارات.

الخطوة 7) التحليل والضبط وإعادة الاختبار

توحيد وتحليل ومشاركة نتائج الاختبار. ثم قم بالضبط الدقيق والاختبار مرة أخرى لمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك تحسن أو انخفاض في الأداء. نظرًا لأن التحسينات عمومًا تصبح أصغر مع كل إعادة اختبار، توقف عند حدوث اختناق بسبب وحدة المعالجة المركزية. ثم قد يكون لديك خيار النظر في زيادة طاقة وحدة المعالجة المركزية.

مقاييس اختبار الأداء: مراقبة المعلمات

تتضمن المعلمات الأساسية التي تتم مراقبتها أثناء اختبار الأداء ما يلي:

مقاييس اختبار الأداء

  • استخدام المعالج – مقدار الوقت الذي يقضيه المعالج في تنفيذ غيرidle الخيوط.
  • استخدام الذاكرة – مقدار الذاكرة الفعلية المتاحة للعمليات على جهاز الكمبيوتر.
  • وقت القرص – مقدار الوقت الذي يكون فيه القرص مشغولاً بتنفيذ طلب القراءة أو الكتابة.
  • عرض النطاق - يعرض البتات في الثانية التي تستخدمها واجهة الشبكة.
  • بايتات خاصة – عدد البايتات التي خصصتها العملية والتي لا يمكن مشاركتها بين العمليات الأخرى. يتم استخدامها لقياس تسرب الذاكرة واستخدامها.
  • الذاكرة الملتزمة – مقدار الذاكرة الافتراضية المستخدمة.
  • صفحات الذاكرة/الثانية – عدد الصفحات المكتوبة على القرص أو المقروءة منه لحل أخطاء الصفحات الصلبة. تحدث أخطاء الصفحة الصلبة عندما يتم استدعاء تعليمات برمجية ليست من مجموعة العمل الحالية من مكان آخر واسترجاعها من القرص.
  • أخطاء الصفحة / ثانية - المعدل الإجمالي الذي تتم به معالجة الصفحات الخاطئة بواسطة المعالج. يحدث هذا مرة أخرى عندما تتطلب العملية تعليمات برمجية من خارج مجموعة العمل الخاصة بها.
  • مقاطعات وحدة المعالجة المركزية في الثانية – هل avg. عدد مقاطعات الأجهزة التي يستقبلها المعالج ويعالجها في كل ثانية.
  • طول قائمة انتظار القرص – هل avg. لا. من طلبات القراءة والكتابة الموجودة في قائمة الانتظار للقرص المحدد أثناء فاصل زمني عينة.
  • طول قائمة انتظار إخراج الشبكة – طول قائمة انتظار حزمة الإخراج في الحزم. أي شيء أكثر من اثنين يعني تأخيرًا ويجب إيقاف الاختناقات.
  • إجمالي بايت الشبكة في الثانية – معدل البايتات التي يتم إرسالها واستقبالها على الواجهة بما في ذلك أحرف الإطارات.
  • وقت الاستجابة - الوقت من وقت قيام المستخدم بإدخال طلب حتى استلام الحرف الأول من الاستجابة.
  • الإنتاجية - معدل جهاز كمبيوتر أو شبكة يتلقى الطلبات في الثانية الواحدة.
  • مقدار الاتصال poolinز - عدد طلبات المستخدمين التي يتم تلبيتها بواسطة الاتصالات المجمعة. كلما زاد عدد الطلبات التي تمت تلبيتها بواسطة الاتصالات في التجمع، كلما كان الأداء أفضل.
  • الحد الأقصى للجلسات النشطة – الحد الأقصى لعدد الجلسات التي يمكن تفعيلها في وقت واحد.
  • نسب الإصابة – وهذا له علاقة بعدد SQL البيانات التي يتم التعامل معها بواسطة البيانات المخزنة مؤقتًا بدلاً من عمليات الإدخال/الإخراج الباهظة الثمن operaشؤون. يعد هذا مكانًا جيدًا للبدء في حل مشكلات الاختناق.
  • عدد الزيارات في الثانية - لا. من الزيارات على خادم الويب خلال كل ثانية من اختبار التحميل.
  • قطاع التراجع – كمية البيانات التي يمكن التراجع عنها في أي وقت.
  • أقفال قاعدة البيانات – يجب مراقبة وضبط قفل الجداول وقواعد البيانات بعناية.
  • أعلى الإنتظار – تتم مراقبتها لتحديد أوقات الانتظار التي يمكن تقليلها عند التعامل مع مدى سرعة استرداد البيانات من الذاكرة
  • عدد الخيوط – يمكن قياس صحة التطبيقات بالرقم. من المواضيع قيد التشغيل والنشطة حاليا.
  • جمع القمامة – يتعلق الأمر بإعادة الذاكرة غير المستخدمة إلى النظام. جمع القمامة يجب مراقبتها من أجل الكفاءة.

مثال على حالات اختبار اختبار الأداء

  • حالة الاختبار 01: تأكد من أن وقت الاستجابة لا يزيد عن 4 ثوانٍ عندما يصل 1000 مستخدم إلى موقع الويب في نفس الوقتneoعادة.
  • حالة الاختبار 02: تحقق من أن وقت استجابة التطبيق قيد التحميل يقع ضمن نطاق مقبول عندما يكون اتصال الشبكة بطيئًا
  • حالة الاختبار 03: تحقق من الحد الأقصى لعدد المستخدمين الذين يمكن للتطبيق التعامل معهم قبل أن يتعطل.
  • حالة الاختبار 04: تحقق من وقت تنفيذ قاعدة البيانات عند قراءة/كتابة 500 سجل في نفس الوقتneoعادة.
  • حالة الاختبار 05: تحقق من استخدام وحدة المعالجة المركزية والذاكرة للتطبيق وخادم قاعدة البيانات في ظل ظروف التحميل القصوى
  • حالة الاختبار 06: التحقق من وقت استجابة التطبيق في ظل ظروف التحميل المنخفضة والعادية والمتوسطة والثقيلة.

أثناء تنفيذ اختبار الأداء الفعلي، يتم استبدال المصطلحات الغامضة مثل النطاق المقبول والحمل الثقيل وما إلى ذلك بالخرسانة numbers. قام مهندسو الأداء بتعيين هذه numbers وفقًا لمتطلبات العمل والمشهد الفني للتطبيق.

أدوات اختبار الأداء

هناك مجموعة واسعة من أدوات اختبار الأداء المتاحة في السوق. ستعتمد الأداة التي تختارها للاختبار على العديد من العوامل مثل أنواع البروتوكول المدعوم، وتكلفة الترخيص، ومتطلبات الأجهزة، ودعم النظام الأساسي وما إلى ذلك. وفيما يلي قائمة بأدوات الاختبار الشائعة الاستخدام.

  • BlazeMeter – هي منصة الاختبار الكاملة والمستمرة الوحيدة في السوق. تعمل أداة اختبار الأداء القوية هذه على تشغيل التطبيقات الموثوقة. يمكن للمختبرين الاستفادة من الميزات المتقدمة مثل الخدمات الوهمية وبيانات الاختبار الاصطناعية واختبار واجهة برمجة التطبيقات (API) ومراقبتها. قابلة للتوسع حتى 2 مليون مستخدم.
  • اتش بي لود رانر - هي أدوات اختبار الأداء الأكثر شيوعًا في السوق اليوم. هذه الأداة قادرة على محاكاة مئات الآلاف من المستخدمين، ووضع التطبيقات تحت الأحمال الواقعية لتحديد سلوكها تحت الأحمال المتوقعة. تحميل يتميز بمستخدم افتراضي generator الذي يحاكي تصرفات المستخدمين البشريين الأحياء.
  • Jmeter - إحدى الأدوات الرائدة المستخدمة لاختبار التحميل لخوادم الويب والتطبيقات.

الأسئلة الشائعة

يتم إجراء اختبار الأداء دائمًا للأنظمة القائمة على خادم العميل فقط. وهذا يعني أن أي تطبيق لا يعتمد على خادم العميل archiيجب ألا تتطلب التقنية اختبار الأداء.

على سبيل المثال، Microsoft الحاسبة لا تعتمد على خادم العميل ولا تقوم بتشغيل عدة مستخدمين؛ ومن ثم فهو ليس مرشحًا لاختبار الأداء.

تجربة أداء

من المهم فهم الفرق بين اختبار الأداء وهندسة الأداء. تتم مشاركة التفاهم أدناه:

اختبار أداء هو الانضباط المعني الاختبار وإعداد التقارير الأداء الحالي لتطبيق برمجي في ظل معايير مختلفة.

هندسة الأداء هي العملية التي يتم من خلالها اختبار البرنامج وضبطه بهدف تحقيق الأداء المطلوب. تهدف هذه العملية إلى تحسين سمة أداء التطبيق الأكثر أهمية، أي تجربة المستخدم.

تاريخيًا، كان الاختبار والضبط مجالين منفصلين ومتنافسين في كثير من الأحيان. ومع ذلك، في السنوات القليلة الماضية، تعاونت عدة مجموعات من المختبرين والمطورين بشكل مستقل لإنشاء فرق ضبط. ونظرًا لأن هذه الفرق حققت نجاحًا كبيرًا، فقد انتشر مفهوم اقتران اختبار الأداء مع ضبط الأداء، ونسميه الآن هندسة الأداء.

وفي الختام

In هندسة البرمجيات, يعد اختبار الأداء ضروريًا قبل تسويق أي منتج برمجي. فهو يضمن رضا العملاء ويحمي استثمار المستثمر من فشل المنتج. عادةً ما يتم تعويض تكاليف اختبار الأداء من خلال تحسين رضا العملاء وولائهم والاحتفاظ بهم.

What is Performance Testing?

Performance Testing is defined as a type of software testing to ensure software applications will perform well under their expected workload.

Features and Functionality supported by a software system is not the only concern. A software application's performance like its response time, reliability, resource usage and scalability do matter. The goal of Performance Testing is not to find bugs but to eliminate performance bottlenecks.

The focus of Performance Testing is checking a software program's

  • Speed - Determines whether the application responds quickly
  • Scalability - Determines maximum user load the software application can handle.
  • Stability - Determines if the application is stable under varying loads

Performance Testing is popularly called “Perf Testing” and is a subset of performance engineering.

In this tutorial, you will learn-

Why do Performance Testing?

Performance Testing Tutorial: Types, Process & Important Metrics

Performance Testing is done to provide stakeholders with information about their application regarding speed, stability, and scalability. More importantly, Performance Testing uncovers what needs to be improved before the product goes to market. Without Performance Testing, software is likely to suffer from issues such as: running slow while several users use it simultaneously, inconsistencies across different operating systems and poor usability.

Performance testing will determine whether their software meets speed, scalability and stability requirements under expected workloads. Applications sent to market with poor performance metrics due to nonexistent or poor performance testing are likely to gain a bad reputation and fail to meet expected sales goals.

Also, mission-critical applications like space launch programs or life-saving medical equipment should be performance tested to ensure that they run for a long period without deviations.

According to Dunn & Bradstreet, 59% of Fortune 500 companies experience an estimated 1.6 hours of downtime every week. Considering the average Fortune 500 company with a minimum of 10,000 employees is paying $56 per hour, the labor part of downtime costs for such an organization would be $896,000 weekly, translating into more than $46 million per year.

Only a 5-minute downtime of Google.com (19-Aug-13) is estimated to cost the search giant as much as $545,000.

It's estimated that companies lost sales worth $1100 per second due to a recent Amazon Web Service Outage.

Hence, performance testing is important.

Types of Performance Testing

  • Load testing - checks the application's ability to perform under anticipated user loads. The objective is to identify performance bottlenecks before the software application goes live.
  • Stress testing - involves testing an application under extreme workloads to see how it handles high traffic or data processing. The objective is to identify the breaking point of an application.
  • Endurance testing - is done to make sure the software can handle the expected load over a long period of time.
  • Spike testing - tests the software's reaction to sudden large spikes in the load generated by users.
  • Volume testing - Under Volume Testing large no. of. Data is populated in a database and the overall software system's behavior is monitored. The objective is to check software application's performance under varying database volumes.
  • Scalability testing - The objective of scalability testing is to determine the software application's effectiveness in "scaling up" to support an increase in user load. It helps plan capacity addition to your software system.

Common Performance Problems

Most performance problems revolve around speed, response time, load time and poor scalability. Speed is often one of the most important attributes of an application. A slow running application will lose potential users. Performance testing is done to make sure an app runs fast enough to keep a user's attention and interest. Take a look at the following list of common performance problems and notice how speed is a common factor in many of them:

  • Long Load time - Load time is normally the initial time it takes an application to start. This should generally be kept to a minimum. While some applications are impossible to make load in under a minute, Load time should be kept under a few seconds if possible.
  • Poor response time - Response time is the time it takes from when a user inputs data into the application until the application outputs a response to that input. Generally, this should be very quick. Again if a user has to wait too long, they lose interest.
  • Poor scalability - A software product suffers from poor scalability when it cannot handle the expected number of users or when it does not accommodate a wide enough range of users. Load Testing should be done to be certain the application can handle the anticipated number of users.
  • Bottlenecking - Bottlenecks are obstructions in a system which degrade overall system performance. Bottlenecking is when either coding errors or hardware issues cause a decrease of throughput under certain loads. Bottlenecking is often caused by one faulty section of code. The key to fixing a bottlenecking issue is to find the section of code that is causing the slowdown and try to fix it there. Bottlenecking is generally fixed by either fixing poor running processes or adding additional Hardware. Some common performance bottlenecks are
    • CPU utilization
    • Memory utilization
    • Network utilization
    • Operating System limitations
    • Disk usage

Performance Testing Process

The methodology adopted for performance testing can vary widely but the objective for performance tests remain the same. It can help demonstrate that your software system meets certain pre-defined performance criteria. Or it can help compare the performance of two software systems. It can also help identify parts of your software system which degrade its performance.

Below is a generic process on how to perform performance testing

Performance Testing Tutorial: Types, Process & Important Metrics

  1. Identify your testing environment - Know your physical test environment, production environment and what testing tools are available. Understand details of the hardware, software and network configurations used during testing before you begin the testing process. It will help testers create more efficient tests.  It will also help identify possible challenges that testers may encounter during the performance testing procedures.
  2. Identify the performance acceptance criteria - This includes goals and constraints for throughput, response times and resource allocation.  It is also necessary to identify project success criteria outside of these goals and constraints. Testers should be empowered to set performance criteria and goals because often the project specifications will not include a wide enough variety of performance benchmarks. Sometimes there may be none at all. When possible finding a similar application to compare to is a good way to set performance goals.
  3. Plan & design performance tests - Determine how usage is likely to vary amongst end users and identify key scenarios to test for all possible use cases. It is necessary to simulate a variety of end users, plan performance test data and outline what metrics will be gathered.
  4. Configuring the test environment - Prepare the testing environment before execution. Also, arrange tools and other resources.
  5. Implement test design - Create the performance tests according to your test design.
  6. Run the tests - Execute and monitor the tests.
  7. Analyze, tune and retest - Consolidate, analyze and share test results. Then fine tune and test again to see if there is an improvement or decrease in performance. Since improvements generally grow smaller with each retest, stop when bottlenecking is caused by the CPU. Then you may have the consider option of increasing CPU power.

Performance Testing Metrics: Parameters Monitored

The basic parameters monitored during performance testing include:

Performance Testing Tutorial: Types, Process & Important Metrics

  • Processor Usage - an amount of time processor spends executing non-idle threads.
  • Memory use - amount of physical memory available to processes on a computer.
  • Disk time - amount of time disk is busy executing a read or write request.
  • Bandwidth - shows the bits per second used by a network interface.
  • Private bytes - number of bytes a process has allocated that can't be shared amongst other processes. These are used to measure memory leaks and usage.
  • Committed memory - amount of virtual memory used.
  • Memory pages/second - number of pages written to or read from the disk in order to resolve hard page faults. Hard page faults are when code not from the current working set is called up from elsewhere and retrieved from a disk.
  • Page faults/second - the overall rate in which fault pages are processed by the processor. This again occurs when a process requires code from outside its working set.
  • CPU interrupts per second - is the avg. number of hardware interrupts a processor is receiving and processing each second.
  • Disk queue length - is the avg. no. of read and write requests queued for the selected disk during a sample interval.
  • Network output queue length - length of the output packet queue in packets. Anything more than two means a delay and bottlenecking needs to be stopped.
  • Network bytes total per second - rate which bytes are sent and received on the interface including framing characters.
  • Response time - time from when a user enters a request until the first character of the response is received.
  • Throughput - rate a computer or network receives requests per second.
  • Amount of connection pooling - the number of user requests that are met by pooled connections. The more requests met by connections in the pool, the better the performance will be.
  • Maximum active sessions - the maximum number of sessions that can be active at once.
  • Hit ratios - This has to do with the number of SQL statements that are handled by cached data instead of expensive I/O operations. This is a good place to start for solving bottlenecking issues.
  • Hits per second - the no. of hits on a web server during each second of a load test.
  • Rollback segment - the amount of data that can rollback at any point in time.
  • Database locks - locking of tables and databases needs to be monitored and carefully tuned.
  • Top waits - are monitored to determine what wait times can be cut down when dealing with the how fast data is retrieved from memory
  • Thread counts - An applications health can be measured by the no. of threads that are running and currently active.
  • Garbage collection - It has to do with returning unused memory back to the system. Garbage collection needs to be monitored for efficiency.

Example Performance Test Cases

  • Verify response time is not more than 4 secs when 1000 users access the website simultaneously.
  • Verify response time of the Application Under Load is within an acceptable range when the network connectivity is slow
  • Check the maximum number of users that the application can handle before it crashes.
  • Check database execution time when 500 records are read/written simultaneously.
  • Check CPU and memory usage of the application and the database server under peak load conditions
  • Verify response time of the application under low, normal, moderate and heavy load conditions.

During the actual performance test execution, vague terms like acceptable range, heavy load, etc. are replaced by concrete numbers. Performance engineers set these numbers as per business requirements, and the technical landscape of the application.

Performance Test Tools

There are a wide variety of performance testing tools available in the market. The tool you choose for testing will depend on many factors such as types of the protocol supported, license cost, hardware requirements, platform support etc. Below is a list of popularly used testing tools.

  • LoadNinja – is revolutionizing the way we load test. This cloud-based load testing tool empowers teams to record & instantly playback comprehensive load tests, without complex dynamic correlation & run these load tests in real browsers at scale. Teams are able to increase test coverage. & cut load testing time by over 60%.
  • NeoLoad - is the performance testing platform designed for DevOps that seamlessly integrates into your existing Continuous Delivery pipeline. With NeoLoad, teams test 10x faster than with traditional tools to meet the new level of requirements across the full Agile software development lifecycle - from component to full system-wide load tests.
  • HP LoadRunner - is the most popular performance testing tools on the market today. This tool is capable of simulating hundreds of thousands of users, putting applications under real-life loads to determine their behavior under expected loads. Loadrunner features a virtual user generator which simulates the actions of live human users.
  • Jmeter - one of the leading tools used for load testing of web and application servers.

FAQ

Which Applications should we Performance Test?

Performance Testing is always done for client-server based systems only. This means, any application which is not a client-server based architecture, must not require Performance Testing.

For example, Microsoft Calculator is neither client-server based nor it runs multiple users; hence it is not a candidate for Performance Testing.

Introduction to HP LoadRunner  and its Architecture

What is the difference between Performance Testing & Performance Engineering

It is of significance to understand the difference between Performance Testing and Performance Engineering. An understanding is shared below:

Performance Testing is a discipline concerned with testing and reporting the current performance of a software application under various parameters.

Performance engineering is the process by which software is tested and tuned with the intent of realizing the required performance. This process aims to optimize the most important application performance trait i.e. user experience.

Historically, testing and tuning have been distinctly separate and often competing realms. In the last few years, however, several pockets of testers and developers have collaborated independently to create tuning teams. Because these teams have met with significant success, the concept of coupling performance testing with performance tuning has caught on, and now we call it performance engineering.

Conclusion

In Software Engineering, Performance testing is necessary before marketing any software product. It ensures customer satisfaction & protects an investor's investment against product failure. Costs of performance testing are usually more than made up for with improved customer satisfaction, loyalty, and retention.

 

YOU MIGHT LIKE: