How to Delete Snapchat Account? (2024)

How to Delete Snapchat Account

Snapchat is a globally recognized social media platform. To keep people engaged with the app, new filters, and features are released every single day. However, there may come times when you decide to stay away from the world of social media or stop using it.

Its growing popularity has also threatened users’ online privacy and security. Snapchat also faced criticism over the years for handling users’ data.

Whatever your reason, deactivating your Snapchat is a quick and easy process. In this post, we’ll guide you step-by-step on deactivating your Snapchat account.

Key Takeaway :

If you are going to deactivate your account, make sure to download your data and back it up first.

How to back up Snapchat data on a PC browser

Using a PC browser is the simplest and fastest way to back up your data. Here, are steps to back up your data using a PC browser:

Step 1) Visit accounts.snapchat.com and log in using your credentials.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 2) Click or tap the “My Data” option from the displayed menu.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 3) At the bottom of the page, enter a valid email address and click the “Submit Request” button.

How to back up Snapchat data

Note: You can also include your Snapchat memories and filter the export data by date range.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 4) Snapchat will send you a link to the verified email address you provided.

Step 5) Using the link, you can then download the .zip file named “MY Data” to your computer or another storage device.

How to back up Snapchat data on Android or iOS application

Here are steps to backup Snapchat data on Android or iOS applications:

Step 1) Open your Snapchat application.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 2) Tap the image of your profile from the top left corner.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 3) Click the settings icon in the top right to go to the “Account Settings” screen.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 4) Select the “My Data” option under the Account Actions section of Account Settings.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 5) Enter your username/email address here. Then, for verification, press the verify button.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 6) Enter your password now, then click “Next.” it will take you to the “My Data” screen.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 7) Enter and validate your email address at the bottom of the “My Data” screen. After that, press the “Submit Request” button.

How to back up Snapchat data

Step 8) You will receive a link from Snapchat in your email. Press the link.

Step 9) To proceed, you have to log in to your account using a web browser of your mobile phone rather than the app.

Step 10) Once logged in, you can download a zip file named ‘My Data’.

How to Delete Snapchat Account

It is possible to temporarily deactivate Snapchat if you wish to do so. The process is simple and can be completed on either a PC browser or through the Snapchat app on a mobile device.

Here are steps on how to delete snapchat account using both methods.

Method 1: How to deactivate a Snapchat account using a computer

Following are some steps to temporarily disable a Snapchat account on a computer/PC:

Step 1) Open a web browser and go to the Snapchat website ‘Or’ visit https://accounts.snapchat.com/.

Step 2) Log in to your Snapchat account using ‘Username’/‘Email’ and password.

How to Deactivate Snapchat

Step 3) Click “Delete my account” under the welcome screen.

How to Deactivate Snapchat

Step 4) On the “Delete Account” page, enter your username and password to verify, and click “Continue.”

How to Deactivate Snapchat

Step 5) After this Snapchat account would be deactivated for 30 days if you entered the correct username and password.

Method 2: How to Deactivate Snapchat account using an Android or iOS app

Here are steps to delete a snapchat account on a mobile app:

Step 1) Open your Snapchat application.

Step 2) Tap the image of your profile from the upper left.

Step 3) Clicking the gear icon or settings icon in the top right will direct you to the account settings.

Step 4) Under the “Support” section on the “Snapchat Settings” menu, tap “I Need Help.”

How to Deactivate Snapchat

Step 5) Type “delete account” into the “Snapchat support” screen’s search bar, and then select the “Delete MY Account” option.

How to Deactivate Snapchat

Step 6) Find the “accounts portal” link from the text on the displayed screen and tap it to proceed.

How to Deactivate Snapchat

Step 7) Now, enter your Snapchat username and password. Then, tap the “Continue” button.

How to Deactivate Snapchat

Step 8) Snapchat deactivates your account for 30 days if you have followed all the above steps.

How to Reactivate Snapchat account

If you change your heart after temporarily deactivating your Snapchat, you can reactivate it. However, you must reactivate it within the 30-day grace period offered by the platform.

The procedure of reactivating is straightforward and can be done in a few easy steps:

Step 1) Open Snapchat on your mobile application or browser.

Step 2) Login or access your Snapchat account using your login details.

Step 3) Snapchat will display a message stating that your account is currently deactivated. Would you wish to reactivate your account? Tap/Click “Yes.”

Step 4) You will receive an email that your Snapchat has been restored.

Note: Reactivating your account may take a few minutes or up to 24 hours. The servers require some time to restore your data. But once you’ve logged in, Snapchat will restore your data. The data will be restored, including Snapchat stories, memories, friends, chats, etc.

How to permanently Delete Snapchat Account

Unfortunately, deleting a Snapchat account directly is not possible. You must have to undergo a 30-day deactivation period to delete your Snapchat account.

To delete your Snapchat account permanently, you can follow these steps:

Step 1) Deactivate your Snapchat account by following the instructions in the previous section.

Step 2) Do not log into your deactivated account for 30 days

Step 3) Snapchat will delete the account permanently after 30 days.

Once your account is permanently deleted, it cannot be reactivated. All data, including your memories, friends, device data and location, etc., will also be deleted permanently.

Note: Snapchat keeps some personal data for business, legal, and security reasons. It is included in Snapchat’s privacy policies. It also contains details about your transactions and the accepted terms of service.

Deactivating vs. Deleting Snapchat

You should remember that Deactivating an account is temporary, but deleting an account is permanent. If you want to take a break from Snapchat without losing data, you can choose the “deactivate” option. However, if you decide not to use the app at all, you can go with the “delete” option.

Deactivating Snapchat means that your account will be temporarily disabled. Your account remains invisible to your friends and other users. They will not be able to search for or find you on the platform. However, your account data, including your snaps and chats, will be saved by Snapchat. If you later decide to come back to Snapchat, you can reactivate your account.

On the other hand, deleting Snapchat refers to permanently deleting the account. You will be unable to recover or reactivate it. That means you will not be able to log in to your account. Your data will be lost, including snaps, memories, and chats. You should carefully consider the delete snap account option. There is no way to get it back once it is permanently deleted.